Santa Rita, officially the Municipality of Santa Rita, is a 4th class municipality in the province of Pampanga, Philippines. According to the 2015 census, it has a population of 40,979 people.

Sta Rita is popular for the turones de casoy delicacy. It is chiefly a farming town.

The town of Santa Rita belongs to the Second District of Pampanga, along with the towns in the south-western part of the province. It is 79 kilometres (49 mi) from Manila.

The largest barangays: Dila-dila and San Basilio occupy 52% of the total municipal land area. Barangays San Agustin and San Vicente with only a space of 2% and 2.13%, of the whole municipal land area are the smallest barangays.

Three barangays compose the poblacion of Sta. Rita: barangays San Vicente, San Jose and part of San Matias. Barangay San Vicente serves as the minor Central Business District, It is where the Public Market is located, while Sta. Rita Church and the Municipal Hall are located in San Jose. Mixed Old and new houses surround the area.

Like other towns in the Philippines, Santa Rita is governed by a mayor and vice mayor who are elected to three-year terms. The mayor is the executive head and leads the town’s departments in executing the ordinances and improving public services. The vice mayor heads a legislative council (Sangguniang Bayan) consisting of councilors from the Barangays or Barrios.

The municipal government is divided into three branches: executive, legislative and judiciary. The judicial branch is administered solely by the Supreme Court of the Philippines. The LGUs have control of the executive and legislative branch.

The executive branch is composed of the mayor and the barangay captain for the barangays.[7] The legislative branch is composed of the Sangguniang Bayan (town assembly), Sangguniang Barangay (barangay council), and the Sangguniang Kabataan for the youth sector.

The seat of Government is vested upon the Mayor and other elected officers who hold office at the Town hall. The Sanguniang Bayan is the center of legislation.


Santa Rita is politically subdivided into 10 barangays:

  • Becuran
  • Dila Dila
  • San Agustin
  • San Basilio
  • San Isidro
  • San Jose
  • San Juan
  • San Matias
  • Santa Monica
  • San Vicente