The Municipality of Sasmuan, formerly known by its Spanish name Sexmoán, is a 4th class municipality in the province of Pampanga, Philippines. According to the 2015 census, it has a population of 28,004 people.

Sasmuan is located in the southern part of Pampanga. It is one of the three towns in the province touching the Manila Bay (Others are Macabebe and Lubao). It is bounded to the north by the municipalities of Guagua and Minalin; to the east by the municipality of Macabebe; to the west by the municipality of Lubao; and to the south by Manila Bay.

It was known as Sexmoan until January 15, 1991.[4] The town’s former name in Spanish was Sexmoán, as was initially transcribed by Spanish friars. In Spanish, the letter <x> used to be pronounced as a voiceless postalveolar fricative /ʃ/, identical to the digraph <sh> in English. It was derived from the ancient Kapampangan rootword sasmo, which means to meet, according to a 17th-century Kapampangan dictionary. Sasmuan therefore is synonymous with “pitagmuan” or “meeting place of the datus” or “meeting point”. It was named “Sasmuan” because it is where the Pampangos meet when they were at war with the Chinese in Guagua.[5] In 1991, it was unanimously changed into Sasmuan, since the previous name, Sexmoán, denoted a very negative sexual connotation not only to the town, but also to the people living within the town itself due to the inculture of believing that the prefix “Sex-” had something to do with the English word sex.

Sasmuan already had a well-developed system of government well before the era of Spanish colonization. It evolved to be one of the oldest and major settlements in Pampanga by the 16th century. The Santa Lucia Church was one of the first Roman Catholic churches built in the Philippines by the Spaniards with the political and financial support of the Principalia.


Sasmuan is politically subdivided into 12 barangays.

  • Santo Tomas includes Sitio Sta. Cruz
  • San Nicolas 2nd includes Sitio Remedios
  • San Nicolas 1st
  • Santa Lucia
  • San Antonio
  • San Pedro
  • Santa Monica includes Sitio San Francisco
  • Malusac “Sto Rosario”
  • Sebitanan “Sto Cristo”
  • Mabuanbuan “Sagrada Pamilya”
  • Batang 1st “Sto Nino”
  • Batang 2nd “Sn Vicente”